Mission on the Road to Emmaus

$40.00
978-1-62698-135-5
In stock
+

In this new collection of essays on mission, two prominent figures in missiology worldwide bring together a number of the biggest names in the field. Each contributor considers mission through the lens of “prophetic dialogue,” in the tradition of Stephan Bevans’ and Roger Schroeder’s book of the same name. This volume, which includes contributions from Jonny Baker, Kirsteen Kim, Gavin D’Costa, Emma Wild-Wood, Robert Schreiter, Mark Heim, Maria Cimperman, and Tom Wright, is perfect for classroom use and ideally suited for courses on missiology in the 21st century.

Cathy Ross is the Director of OxCEPT at Ripon College, Cuddesdon, UK. Stephen B. Bevans, S.V.D, is Louis J. Luzbetak, S.V.D., Professor of Mission and Culture at Catholic Theological Union, Chicago, USA. 

Book Details

Title:
Mission on the Road to Emmaus
Subtitle:
Constants, Context, and Prophetic Dialogue
Author:
Cathy Ross
Co-Author:
Stephen B. Bevans
Pages:
280
Binding:
softcover
A significant contribution to the field of missiology as various notable theologians and missiologists from diverse religious traditions tackle, through the framework of prophetic dialogue, the different constants in Christian mission such as Christology, ecclesiology, eschatology, soteriology, anthropology, and culture.... A remarkable collection.
Out of this prophetic dialogue emerge theological reflections that show a way forward for theology and mission in a global context.
Ross and Bevans expound on the theme of mission as prophetic dialogue in relation to selected strands of theology. In their introductory essay, they speak of prophetic dialogue demonstrating the triune God is in mission — God carries out the divine mission in and for dialogue. They assert that doing mission in dialogue primarily means that we must have a heart so open that the wind blows through it.... Suitable for seminary, theological, and university libraries.
Write a review